I’ve noticed before that the folk at Kalahari.net seem to have problems with their search engine. I was just trying to find a book to link to for another post and the first hit from an author search for David Allen returned this.
How they made that match I’d love to know. I have sometimes seen where a title search doesn’t find something but an author or artist search reveals that they do in fact have the very title their search couldn’t find. Perhaps they should consider looking into this.
Yesterday I blogged about a way to get rid of Snap previews by adding a line to your hosts file. I thought I would never see another but minutes ago I did. So why didn’t the hosts file fix work? Simply that it assumes all Snap previews are served from spa.snap.com but it seems they are not. The one I got this evening was served from bp0.blogger.com. I could just add another line mapping this address to localhost (127.0.0.1) but I don’t know what I might break. Does Blogger serve up other content from this sub-domain? If not it is safe to add it to the hosts file, but if it is used, adding it poses the risk of messing up any Blogger pages I visit.
I don’t like Snap Previews. Far too often I get them popping up because my mouse pointer just happened to hover over a link unintentionally. Basically, if I want to see what’s behind a link, I’ll click on it. Displaying previews, expecially when I don’t want them is really just stealing my bandwidth.
Fortunately John Watson has posted a more permanent cure than the temporary, cookie-based fix that Snap offer. The solution is as simple as adding this line to your hosts file;
127.0.0.1 spa.snap.com
You’ll find your hosts file in C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts on Windows or in /etc/hosts on OS X and Linux.
I was idly looking around for product info on the web and had a look to see if I could find a web site for the Photo Connection chain. I couldn’t despite going to their sister brand Incredible Connection‘s site and from there to the parent company Connection Group‘s site. I couldn’t find any link to a Photo Connection site. Their group profile page doesn’t even mention that the brand exists; strange considering the length of time that the brand has been trading, at least one year, perhaps even two.
Noticing that they have a Customer Feedback page I tried to leave the following comment.
Just wondered why there does not appear to be an Internet presence for your Photo Connection brand. This seems strange to me considering the fact that photographers are so tightly hooked in to the Internet in this digital age. Almost all investigation and a lot of purchases are done on-line so if you don’t have a presence there you must surely be losing out.
but when I submitted the form I got this error
Microsoft VBScript runtime error ’800a01ad’
ActiveX component can’t create object: ‘CDONTS.NewMail’
/feedback_complete.asp, line 98
Sadly this type of haphazard approach to the Internet as an interface to customers and potential customers is all too common amongst South African businesses. A great number of businesses have no Internet presence at all and when they do these are often outdated, broken or written to work with only certain web browsers.
Companies, I’m tired of…
- being unable to easily find information on your products
- being forced to contact you by phone
- reading in an advertisement that I can visit your web site at an some e-mail address
- being forced to use a certain web browser to view your site
It should not be easier for me to buy products on-line from foreign vendors than it is to do so locally. The Proudly South African campaign would have us use local businesses to stimulate our economy. This would be a wonderful idea if only local businesses made it easier to do so.
Since last night I have received multiple copies of an e-mail from Computicket to each of my e-mail accounts, suggesting that I should be wildly excited that the stage production of The Lion King is coming to South Africa, and that I should rush to book my tickets. There are several annoying things about this.
- I have no interest in this show.
- It is being presented in a theatre roughly 1,800km from where I am.
- I have never asked Computicket to include me in any mailing lists.
- I am receiving the message through several e-mail accounts that I have never given to Computicket.
- The e-mails display no indication of how I can unsubscribe from further notifications, something I understood to be a requirement under South African law.
If this show is as popular internationally as they suggest I see no need for this spam campaign. I’m sure they could fill all the seats by sticking to conventional advertising methods.